The faces of entrepreneurship in Nigeria

I was about going in for a meeting sometime last week when I heard this lady saying ‘have a nice day’ to someone. I heard so much friendliness and happiness in the voice but I didn’t know exactly where the voice was coming from.

Later on, as I was about going in, this lady came to us and offered us a sample of her cakes and her card. I had the sample of the chocolate one and it was so tasty- me and my sweet tooth 🙂

ICakes by Yosola met Yosola again today to place an order. When I went to her store she was so nice to everyone and down-to-earth- she wasn’t just sitting around bossing everyone but was very involved in supervising the final product. When she started telling me about her son in SS1 ( Grade 10) and her 30-year old craft I thought, oops I remembered her from our first meeting as much younger and because of that all this time I had been talking to her on the phone I had been calling her by her first name not knowing she was much older than me.

She shared about a lot of things- from the dignity of labour to learning from others to overcoming fear to tradeoffs and the people in her life who keep her going.

She also talks about starting small and sticking with it.

It is by starting small and sticking with it that she went from a cottage business in her kitchen to paying cash for the new building where she runs Cakes by Yosola.

I was really happy about this opportunity to talk to Yosola because to me this is the face and future of Nigeria- people like her who grow their ideas and use the opportunity to employ people, empower people with skills and inspire people. I know the bad eggs really do us in and give us a bad reputation with scams and what not, but I consider them the minority. There are people like Yosola that I really admire- loving, hardworking, innovative, doing what they need to do to go to the next level. They don’t even see it as anything special- they just see it as doing what needs to be done- so I am so glad that I got to share a conversation with one of those amazing people with you today.

If you are ever in town, you should order a cake from her website. They are also on Facebook and twitter and share baking and decorating tips so check them out.

Thank you Yosola.

Don’t forget to leave me a comment, subscribe and come on over to twitter to continue the conversation 😉

Leave a Reply

