From shy homeless teenager to business leader. If she can do it, so can you!

Psst: I’ve moved. Visit me here http://streetsideconvos.com. Maybe the new blog will be for you. Maybe not.

I had the opportunity of meeting Debra Ross recently. Debra Ross is the owner and founder of Gamma Tech Inspection Ltd which works in the oil and construction sector to ensure the safety of their structures/ pipelines, etc.

She was one of the winners of the Business in Calgary Leaders of Tomorrow 2012 Award.

Debra and I planned to meet up somewhere in the mall. Given that she has made a name for herself in quite a male-dominated sector, I was so surprised to meet a very playful, friendly person. To be honest I had expected to meet a polite but serious and proper person 🙂 , however she was a simple, funny, very cheerful person.

She was so happy to connect with me and we talked for hours. She also offered me some advice and ideas on my own projects. She is that kind of person that makes you feel that if she can do it, you too can.

We exchanged stories before, during and after the interview. She told me hers- from having little confidence as a child to leaving home and being homeless at 14 to becoming a very sociable and successful entrepreneur. I bet you won’t be able to guess from the interview that she went through a lot in the past. I found it hard to imagine her having low self-confidence.

She talked about the importance of hard work, mentorship, winning the trust of your clients, investing in your personal development, and being mindful of how you use your time and who/what influences you.

After talking to her, I thought, as human beings we really are strong, and we have the power to make choices that can create the lives that we want. We can choose to put ourselves in those places that enable us face our fears or hide from them and stay afraid. We can choose what we put in between our heads and the voices that inform us. All these little things don’t seem like a big deal, but they gradually add up to the lives we end up with.

Hear from her yourself here:

Oh and I dare not forget to add that she has a HUGE admiration for Richard Branson.

Leave a Reply

