Omolade, Dasola and Kelechi in Calgary

I hung out with Omolade, Dasola and Kelechi to plan a possible open mic/movie screening etc.

By the time we were done it was already too late to meet a stranger to interview so I asked (*cough*coerced*cough* 😉 ) them to do the interview (even though this isn’t the first time I’m meeting them).

This video is the longest! I had to break it into 4 parts in order to upload it.

What I enjoyed the most about this was getting to know them better. One thing I have to say is that the three of them definitely have a strong awareness of who they are.

For example Omolade always like to help. If you are around her she will assertively ask you what you want and offer you things to make you more comfortable. She doesn’t consider it tedious, its just her being her. She is always at others’ service and when she said that she wants to help others with her life I knew she meant it.

Dasola is always making things happen. He always take ownership when there is anything to be done- from a road trip to party to movie to career night etc and I understood why now- because he likes efficiency in every system.

Kelechi doesn’t like to do anything in half measures. He always revises over and over again till its as close as possible to perfection and when he said that he values excellence I appreciated why he does things the way he does.

Its cool because I got to know them more- what makes them who they are, what their values are, their heart, their future dreams and thoughts. I didn’t know Omolade loves change. I didn’t know Kelechi loves to make people smile. I didn’t know how much passion Dasola has for creating the Nigeria of his dreams. They all had one thing in common- a desire to create a better future for others.

It was honest, funny and deep at the same time.

One thing I learnt from this interview is that it is always good to still make room to discover and be surprised by the people in our lives. If they are anything like us then they are beautifully complex.  After sharing the same space or doing some routine activities together you might assume you have a good sense of who they are. When you connect to their essence however, you really admire their gifts and also have a stronger sense of respect for their own self-expression.

Sometimes its hard to have more than a superficial conversation but maybe we can start by sharing our authentic self with others. This doesn’t necessarily mean not using discretion or telling all your dirty secrets but rather being bold enough to wear your essence closer to your sleeve. Its scary but it also has a way of bringing the right people into your life.

What do you think? Yes? No? Maybe?

(Ps: On my previous post about passion- I will share my own ideas on how to get driven/passionate about things we may not presently enjoy. Still waiting for your comments though!)

Leave a Reply

