Going outside your comfort zone sucks!

Happy new year.

So today is the first day of my video blog- yay!

I was at the airport today and thought it would be a great place to meet people to interview because people travelling would tend to be open, adventurous etc. Right?

I talked to a few people at Calgary Airport, and got a lot of ‘no’s to my surprise. One man I talked to actually refused to tell me his name and asked me instead – ‘What do you want from me?’ haha

So I was (more than) a bit upset, decided to forget about doing the interview and just wanted to head home.

I got on the bus 300 which heads to the city centre from the airport and guess what? I met Phyllis- this beautiful woman who struck up a conversation with me as we tried to figure out what time the bus would be coming from the bus schedule posted beside the bus stop.

She struck me as a very open and kind person. She even gave me her scarf to wear until the bus came for us because I was under dressed for the cold.

She was comfortable with just the first two questions which is fine nonetheless. I hope to meet up with her again because she has an amazing personality.

Thank you Phyllis!

When doing a pilot for the video blog, the first person I interviewed was so friendly that I didn’t think it would be a big deal and so I forgot one key thing- going outside your comfort zone sucks. However today I was reminded of just that. Its not as fun as the idea of it sounds. Infact if it sucks, then you know you have truly gone outside of your comfort zone and hopefully as you keep on, your comfort zone will keep expanding.

So if you are planning to take some big leaps of faith this year don’t expect to always feel happy about it all the time. However, don’t stop if it sucks, rather take it as a positive reinforcement that shows that you are growing.

I started this blog to see the similarities that people in different places share. However, today has taught me that this will also be an opportunity for me to move outside my comfort zone. Therefore I will also share about my personal growth, my entrepreneurial endeavours and other exciting tidbits about my life along the line.

Happy new year. I hope 2013 is a year of growth and fulfilment.

Don’t forget to leave me a comment, subscribe and come over to twitter so we continue the conversation.

Leave a comment